« Paul Farmer and Tracy Kidder. Hope and Cynicism. | Main | The Spirituality of Imperfection: on forgiving »

Aug 16, 2009

Help Durham City Council with its Resolution in Support of Civil Marriage for Same Sex Couples

Time sensitive Re: Durham City Council meeting -- Monday night, 17 August, 7 p.m.

Various sources remind us to encourage the Durham City Council to adopt the resolution as planned. If you're local, please shoot a note of support to the City Council folk and/or show up at the meeting with smiles.

Meeting is at 7 p.m.  The resolution item is scheduled for shortly after the consent agenda.  See here for full agenda.

The word from Equality NC:

Council members are getting pressure from conservatives to vote against this resolution. Make sure they know where you stand by contacting them directly: 

Mayor William V. "Bill" Bell: bill.bell@durhamnc.gov 

Cora Cole-McFadden (Ward 1) cora.cole-mcfadden@durhamnc.gov 

Farad Ali (At-Large)  farad.ali@durhamnc.gov 

Eugene A. Brown (At-Large)  eugene.brown@durhamnc.gov 

Diane Catotti (At-Large) diane.catotti@durhamnc.gov 

Howard Clement, III (Ward 2) howard.clement@durhamnc.gov 

Mike Woodard (Ward 3)  mike.woodard@durhamnc.gov

My email: Dear City Council Members - - I'm delighted to hear of your Resolution in Support of Civil Marriage for Same Sex Couples. Thank you for standing with the principles of love and fairness embodied in this resolution, and for withstanding the criticism of those who do not (yet!) see the light. Sincerely, Phil Marsosudiro, Durham Business Owner

08:21 PM in Current Affairs, Destination Durham | Permalink

Comments

I sent an email! Very exciting!

Posted by: Jenny | Aug 17, 2009 9:51:13 AM